Found Hiding in the Corner

I’ve mentioned More for Less foods in several posts already, and today’s no different. Every time I visit the store to pick up spices, nuts, and flour, I inevitably leave with something new I’ve fallen in love with. Like this:

As a kid I ate Guava Jam often, thanks in part to family living in South America who would bring jars of the sweet, pink confiture with them on visits. Imagine my surprise and delight, then, to discover it in Corner Brook, Newfoundland– the least likely place to serve tropical fruit-anything.

While my childhood Guava experiences consisted of smearing the stuff on toast, this jelly is just as delicious served with a cheese course, as a compote for lamb or steak dishes (perhaps even moose?), or simply on a baguette with a slice of aged cheddar as an afternoon snack. ¡buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

